Fayetteville Arkansas recyclingFayetteville, AR (pop. 76,899), is the third-largest city in Arkansas and it is home to the University of Arkansas. As the largest part of the Fayetteville-Springdale-Rogers metropolitan area, Fayetteville is the hub of the booming northwest Arkansas region — the city itself grew nearly 27% in population from 2000 to 2010. This influx of new residents creates much more waste, so recycling is more important than ever. Fayetteville’s Solid Waste and Recycling Division is responsible for recycling, composting and refuse pick-up, with a pay-as-you-throw residential trash program in place to encourage residents to recycle and compost as much as possible. In 2012, Fayetteville collected more than 3,000 tons of recyclables at the curb, with another 1,032 tons collected at community drop-offs. Fayetteville uses 18-gallon green bins for its curbside recycling service, which serves 20,300 households across the city. Each household is allowed two bins free of charge; more than two incurs a small fee.

Materials recycled

Paper Newspaper is accepted but must be separated from other mixed paper in a brown paper bag or an approved reusable bag (which can be purchased at Fayetteville’s Solid Waste & Recycling office; see “Other Programs” below). White ledger paper, telephone books, magazines, catalogs, paperboard and mixed junk mail is also accepted. Corrugated cardboard must be flattened and placed under the bin for collection. Plastics Plastic bottles numbered 1 and 2 are accepted (no lids; rinsed; labels OK). Metals Aluminum cans and tin/steel cans are accepted (rinsed; labels OK). Glass Glass bottles and jars (all colors) are accepted (no lids; rinsed; labels OK).


Fayetteville residents take recyclables to the curb on a weekly basis on the same day as refuse and yard waste collection. Bins must be placed curbside no later than 5 a.m. on collection day, at least 3 feet from the refuse cart and other obstructions. They must be returned to property no later than 12 hours after pick-up. A collection map is available online.

Other programs

The City of Fayetteville operates two free recycling drop-off centers open to the general public (not just Fayetteville residents). All recyclables listed above may be dropped off at the facilities:

  • City of Fayetteville Recycling Drop-Off Facility (and Solid Waste & Recycling office), 1420 S. Happy Hollow Rd. Facility open 24/7.
  • Marion Orton Recycling Facility, 735 W. North St. Facility open Monday through Wednesday and Friday through Saturday, from 6 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Thursday, from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Yard waste (grass clippings, leaves and brush) is collected weekly at the curb for composting. All yard waste must be contained in approved brown paper yard waste bags or in trash cans clearly labeled “YARD WASTE.” All brush must be bundled no longer than 4 feet in length. Limbs must be 5 inches in diameter or less. The bagged weight limit is 50 pounds. Washington County, which includes Fayetteville and nearby Springdale and Farmington, operates a household hazardous waste/electronic waste drop-off facility (2615 S. Brink Dr.) that is free to all county residents. Accepted items include automotive supplies (batteries, antifreeze, motor oil, and tires), paints, strippers, thinners, lacquers, mineral spirits, pesticides, herbicides, yard chemicals, pool chemicals, cleaners, household batteries, fluorescent bulbs, mercury thermometers, sharps, TVs, computers, VCRs, printers and many other kinds of household electronics. Hours of operation are Monday through Friday, from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., and the first Saturday of each month, from 8 a.m. to noon. Visit the HHW facility website or call 479.444.1725 for more information on electronics and tire collection.

More information

Visit the City of Fayetteville Solid Waste & Recycling website for more recycling program info.